prompt # 10 unlove

Ms. B. says that we are like
crabs in a barrel
we so close that we all up on that

I never agreed to be stuck in this
tank of rancid salt water
with all of you
especially the king crab with his
pincers and napoleon complex mixed
with some kinda Oedipal issues

which I know well because I played
Oedipus in the tenth grade play
when was in high school (before I
knew I would return years later and
masquerading as an adult)
because my friends were bullies
of the most loving sort, of course-

And they say keep your friends close and
your enemies closer and
at the rate we’re going, we’d rather
take each other out
unwilling to unclench our claws

even to save ourselves
in some kind of twenty-fifth hour
and at the rate we’re going,
we’ll all end up in that boiling pot together

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment